Monday, August 20, 2012

Calendar in the Sky Webinar

You are invited to join a free Calendar in the Sky webinar on Tuesday, August 28, 2012, at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET. This is the third webinar in the series.

Title: Putting it into Practice: Resources and Activity Ideas for Programming about Maya Astronomy
Presenter: Amy Grochowski, Curator of Education at the Maxwell Museum of Anthropology, Albuquerque, NM
Date: Tuesday, August 28, 2012
Time: 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET
Duration: 90 minutes
Format: Online Webinar (60 min presentation with 30 min discussion period)
Registration: Please register for this webinar at

Join museum curator Amy Grochowski as she showcases programming about Maya science and culture implemented at the Maxwell Museum of Anthropology in Albuquerque, NM. She will describe activities offered in a museum setting and suggest how to build Calendar in the Sky topics into overall programming. Useful resources for developing programs will also be highlighted. Other Calendar in the Sky workshop participants will also present on activities they have tried in their informal education settings. We'll end the webinar by opening up the discussion to all participants to share their activities and resources around this topic.

Presenter Bio:
Amy Grochowski has been an informal science educator in museums and science centers for over 13 years. She is currently Curator of Education at the Maxwell Museum of Anthropology in Albuquerque, NM where her recent work has focused on exhibitions and programs about Maya science, culture and art. Prior to working at the Maxwell Museum, she taught science and nature programs at the New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science and the Detroit Science Center. Her background in museum education combined with degrees in the natural sciences has instilled in her a passion for teaching about the connection of people to the natural world.

Calendar in the Sky is a NASA-funded project led by UC Berkeley to engage the American public, particularly Latino audiences, in NASA science (space exploration, astronomy, planetary and Earth sciences, etc.) via the broad interest in Maya culture. We are conducting a series of webinars for educators on NASA science and Maya astronomy. Following the webinars, attendees will be given access to private discussion boards on the project website ( where they can discuss the webinar topics and exchange ideas and resources for educational programming with colleagues. The webinars will be recorded and archived on the website.

Please pass this message on to any colleagues you think would be interested in attending.

No comments:

Post a Comment